The Wines and Foods of Piemonte – My New Book

2 thoughts on “The Wines and Foods of Piemonte – My New Book”

  1. Dear Mr. Hyland,

    Thank you for your e-mail. The wood sounds fascinating and my wife and I plan to get several copies (at the paypall price) for family and friends.

    I did have one question though about one portion of the text that you provided. It says the the regulations “allow the use of chestnut for aging, virtually every producer uses wood.” Did you mean “oak” or something else? (At least you can see that we have been reading what you sent.)

    Regrds, Doug

    1. Douglas:

      Thanks for the comment and for mentioning you would by the book- thank you!

      As to your question, one thing; you wrote that the “wood” sounds fascinating.” A Freudian slip, for sure. I know you meant “the book.”

      As for wood versus oak, I just checked the disciplinare regulations to make sure I hadn’t made a mistake and in Italian it reads, i rovere o di castagno, so chestnut or oak, so yes, both are wood, so basically, yes, oak is correct, but so is wood. Six of one, half dozen of the other, I guess!

Leave a comment