Vernaccia di San Gimignano – An Underrated Gem

2 thoughts on “Vernaccia di San Gimignano – An Underrated Gem”

  1. I have a bottle of Vernaccia di San Gimignano from Terruzi y Puthod from 1989 (I bought it in Italy) I was wondering it has been aging for some years now is it too old to drink? I am honestly nervous about opening it up and drinking it.

    1. Cindy:

      While that is an excellent producer of Vernaccia di San Gimignano, I would say with a great degree of certainly that the wine is past its peak. I doubt it has much life left. Sometimes, these wines in the top vintages can drink well for up to ten year, perhaps even a year or two more. So this wine has most likely seen its better days.

Leave a Reply

