The Real Story of Brunello di Montalcino

8 thoughts on “The Real Story of Brunello di Montalcino”

    1. Charles:

      Thank you. You are correct that this is indeed a very important book, especially as it is written by someone who is an expert on the subject.

  1. Hi Tom,
    I have not read her book and i am looking forward to, but i tend to disagree with the view that a winery like Castello Banfi is “included for their influence”. I think the Mariani did what no one else did, and brought the name of Montalcino and its Brunello in the world. Maybe without them Montalcino now would still be a sleeping rural town in central Tuscany. But after all when you write a book, you have the right to express your opinions.
    Regards

    1. Ciro:

      Thank you for your comment. What you are saying is exactly why Kerin included them (along with some other reasons, not so flattering). They have done much to make the word Montalcino better known across the world, as you say, which is why Kerin has written about them in her book. She has problems with the stylistic direction of their wines, however.

  2. Thanks for your review. I tested myself about how many Brunello producers I could name and I came up with 9. Not too bad I suppose, given that it is more than a handful, but I definitely want to learn more about this wonderful wine and territory.

  3. nice review and good job alerting us that at last there is a book on the best wine in the world!

  4. I’ve read the book and really enjoyed it. In fact I even left a review on Amazon. I don’t subscribe to her point of view completely, but enjoy her position. I find that a lot of my favorite producers don’t get even a mention, like Agostina Pieri and Talenti. It leaves me wondering why. Are they too modern? Are they not important enough?

    Also I find her traditionalist views a little too unrealistic. After trying many wines at Bellisimo Brunello in SF, I found very few that I would call modern, except Valdicava.

    1. David:

      Thanks for the comment. Sorry it took me so long to get this up, but I was in Italy for two weeks and didn’t get to that many emails.

      I also love the wines of Talenti. As to why it’s not in the book, I can’t speak for Kerin. Perhaps there are other producers she would have included, but ran out of the allotted space given to her by her publisher.

Leave a comment