Sommeliers’ Best Italian Wines

2 thoughts on “Sommeliers’ Best Italian Wines”

  1. Tom, among all the Italian guides to wines, which one do you personally tend to agree more with? Put in another way, if you had to pick an Italian wine that you’ve never had, which guide would you trust more?
    Keep up the good work!
    Dan

    1. Dan:

      An excellent question! I don’t follow Veronelli or the Espresso Guida, so I go with both Duemilavini and Tre Bicchieri.

      I have to say that I used to think that Gambero Rosso favored too many modern, international wines, but the have definitely changed their approach over the past few years and now recognize many lovely traditional Barolos and Brunellos. They also do an excellent job with wines from Friuli, Alto Adige and Campania.

      Duemilavini is alo excellent, though I’ve noticed a bit of shift towards modern reds. Still, they do honor excellent traditional wines, especially from Brunello.

Leave a comment