2011 Barbaresco

4 thoughts on “2011 Barbaresco”

  1. Nice post, Tom, and a very balanced account of a vintage that gave a fair number of producers headaches. The heavy oak brigade did not do justice to it, but Cascina delle Rose certainly did!

    1. Thanks, Tom. I was not overly confident heading into this tasting, so it was nice to be pleasantly surprised. Though I’m never surprised by Cascina delle Rose, as their wines are always traditional and perfectly balanced. They are a delight to drink!

  2. Tom I almost always buy Barbaresco as they are what I can afford – unless I stumble upon some Barolos being closed out. Nebbiolo is by far my favorite grape and to me, there’s no wine more aromatically complex than 15 year nebbiolo. The 96s that I have are still infants!

    1. Jonas: Thanks for the comments. I also love Nebbiolo, as you can tell. I agree with you about the ’96s- they are still very young and they will be around and drinking well for a long time!

Leave a Reply

