Wines and Foods from Piemonte – my next book

April 30, 2014 at 10:57 am 2 comments

lazzalps_x

Vineyards in Serralunga d’Alba looking towards the snow-covered Alps (Photo ©Tom Hyland)

Exciting news- my next book will be about the wines and foods of Piemonte. I’ll be heading there next week for a ten day visit and will be doing some research – tasting, reporting, taking photos, and of course, eating! Then I’ll be working on the book throughout the summer.

I have enjoyed very fine success with my first book Beyond Barolo and Brunello: Italy’s Most Distinctive Wines, which was released in February 2013 and is still selling well. That was a self-published book, but for this project, I believe it is time to upgrade. So this will be a hardcover book complete with 24-28 full color photos. I’ll also be working with one of the finest academic publishers in the nation, the University of Nebraska Press.

Clearly this will be a much more expensive project to undertake, so to make this work, I am asking my friends and colleagues to help me out with a financial contribution. I have begun a campaign on indiegogo.com (click here), which explains more about this book as well as the various perks offered for contributing, from photos to a signed book.

I do realize that today’s economic climate is difficult, but I hope that enough of you will be able to contribute even on a small basis. I’m confident that my goal will be reached with your help.

tajarinasticebivio

The classic tajarin pasta of the Langhe – this with vegetables and seafood (Photo ©Tom Hyland)

Besides interviews with winemakers from various areas of Piemonte, I will also be writing about the classic foods of the region, from tajarin to coniglio (rabbit). I’ll include interviews from chefs as well as thoughts from them (along with winemakers) about the best wine and food pairings of the area. There are many books on food and a few on wine, but very few that deal with both aspects of one region, so I’m excited to write this book.

The fundraising campaign for the book has just begun and will run through June 6. I hope you can help!

The Wines and Foods of Piemonte

By Tom Hyland, University of Nebraska Press

Fundraising campaign at Indiegogo.com 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Custoza – One of the Best Italian Whites you probably don’t know 2011 Barbaresco

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt Paul  |  May 18, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    Hi Tom
    Buona fortuna! Happy to contribute and look forward to receiving my photos!

    Reply
    • 2. tom hyland  |  May 18, 2014 at 7:29 pm

      Thank you very much for your contribution, Matt.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


tom hyland

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 641 other followers

Beyond Barolo and Brunello


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 641 other followers

